Gemini Logo International Gemini Observatory

Photograph of Gemini Observatory


From their locations on Maunakea in Hawai‘i and Cerro Pachón in Chile, Gemini Observatory's telescopes can collectively access the entire sky. The suite of capabilities at Gemini includes a wide-field laser adaptive optics system that complements other current ground- and space-based telescopes and the Vera C. Rubin Observatory. Gemini also hosts a robust visitor instrument program (unique among this telescope class). Gemini pioneers innovative approaches to proposing and observing, including: Fast Turnaround (monthly deadlines); Large and Long programs (multi-year research); and Priority Visitor mode.

 Gemini Observatory Logo NSF LogoNRC CNRC Logo  Agencia Nacional de Investigacion y Desarrollo         LNA Logo         Ministerio de Ciencia, tecnologia e Innovacion Argentina Logo         Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute Logo        

The Gemini international partnership includes the United States, Canada, Chile, Brazil, Argentina and Korea: the US National Science Foundation (NSF), the Canadian National Research Council (NRC), the Chilean Comisión Nacional de Investigación Cientifica y Tecnológica (ANID), the Brazilian Ministério da Ciência, Tecnologia e Inovação, the Argentinean Ministerio de Ciencia, Tecnología e Innovación, and the Korea Astronomy and Space Institute (KASI). 

These Participants and the University of Hawai‘i, which has regular access to Gemini, each maintain a National Gemini Office to support their local users. Any astronomer in these countries can apply for Gemini time, which is allocated in proportion to each participant’s level of support.

Visit the Gemini website

The astronomical community is honored to have the opportunity to conduct astronomical research on Maunakea in Hawai‘i. We recognize and acknowledge the very significant cultural role and reverence that this site has to the Native Hawaiian community.

The International Gemini Observatory is operated by NSF NOIRLab, which is managed by the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA) under a cooperative agreement with the National Science Foundation.